Liability insurance

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by GElawn, Feb 16, 2007.

1. GElawn

GElawn LawnSite Member

I am starting this spring and have 1 large account, they requested that I have liability insurance. How much should I carry?

I have contacted my local insurance co. , they gave me some choices of 100,000 300,000 500,000 100,000,000 the difference in price from the lowest to the highest amount is about 250. Do I need this insurance for just one account?

This insurance really cuts into my profit margin, and I am not sure if I want to take on another account, with being I am just starting out in this biz.
  2. echeandia

echeandia LawnSite Bronze Member

Not having insurance and having an accident will really cut into your profit margin. I carry $1MM.
  3. Wells

Wells LawnSite Member
    from SLC UT

Agree 100%.
    We also carry 1 mil. but only because several of our commercial clients require that amount of coverage. If you were doing strickly residential properties you would probably be fine with 300,000 to 500,00.
  4. Robert S

Robert S LawnSite Member
    from tx

what would that cost per month/? 300,000 worth?
  5. godzilla

godzilla LawnSite Senior Member

I'm covered to 2 mil and only do residential work. It's money that I am glad to spend. Mostly for the protection of my clients, but for my own protection as well.
  6. Wells

Wells LawnSite Member
    from SLC UT

The price is going to vary from insurance company to insurance company but for $300,000 your probably looking around $600 or less per year or $50 per month. Well worth the expence.
  7. lawnpro724

lawnpro724 LawnSite Silver Member

Wells for that price or a little more you could get a million dollar policy so why would you want $300,000?
  8. trinitylandscape

trinitylandscape LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta