Liability

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by moonlighting, Apr 2, 2010.

1. moonlighting

moonlighting LawnSite Member

I recently learned that i have been installing some light fixtures that do not have a CSA or ULc listing.

I have been installing some of these for 3 years, all the while claiming that all of the fixtures in fact were listed.The manufaturer in the past had listed every fixture in their product line, had always clamied to be the safe system and promoted to me these key factors to earn my business.
    are they to be hald liable also if there is an issue with one of there fixtures that causes an issue with my customers?

My supplier, who also is a huge supporter of CSA listed fixtures had sold me these fixtures, are they also to be held liable?

of course i will be held liable if there is a issue with my installation while using these fixtures.

these are the questions i am wondering about on good Friday. What are your thoughts on this?

Jason Fleming
    Moonlighting

2. irrig8r

irrig8r LawnSite Platinum Member

I think you have every right to be pissed. It's also strange that the discussion where you first tried airing this was censored...

We know that there were other distractions going on, but it's really not an excuse. And I'm not sure how deep the manufacturer's pockets are anymore should anything bad happen.

You are obviously not alone in this. My initial research tells me that some of the fixtures may either have no listing at all, or the record keeping has been lax.

I talked to my distributor about it yesterday. He had no idea either.

3. moonlighting

So Greg, will this effect you in your area? do you currently get inspections on your installs? if so, are the inspectors so lax that they only glance at the transformer?

j

4. moonlighting

I have a list of fixtures that were checked against the CSA website and were not listed. PM me if you want them.

5. irrig8r

irrig8r LawnSite Platinum Member