Licensed and Insured?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CowPaddy, Apr 18, 2000.

1. CowPaddy

CowPaddy LawnSite Member

Hi, I may have a dumb question here, but can anyone enlighten me?<br>I am new to this biz and I have a question about being licensed and Insured.<br>I noticed some companies in this area say they are licensed and Insured or licensed and bonded. I was wondering what type of license and Insurance are they referring to? Would they be referring to a DBA license and some type of liabillity Insurance? Would someone be able to explain what this Insurance covers and also the cost? <br>Thanks.

2. DMC300

DMC300 LawnSite Senior Member

TO DO BUSINESS IN A COUNTY YOU NEED A BUS. LICENSE,ALSO NEED ONE FOR EACH CITY YOU WORK IN.AS FOR INS.YOU'LL NEED LIABILITY INS.AT LEAST $300,000 POLICY.I TOOK OUT A $1,000,000 POLICY PLUS EQUIP. COVERAGE FOR AROUND $800 YEAR? SOMETHING CLOSE TO THAT,IT COVERS THEFT,PERSONAL INJ.,ETC...IF YOU HAVE EMPLOYEES GO WITH THE WORKMANS COMP. IT TAKES MONEY TO MAKE MONEY! BEST WISHES<p>----------<br>DON<br>LIANNES' MOWING

3. HonkyTonk

HonkyTonk LawnSite Member

Hello,<br>I have been wondering about insurance also.<br>Which insurance companies handle this type of insurance?<br>Thanks...<br>

4. nlminc

nlminc LawnSite Bronze Member
    from GA

Look in the yellow pages for Farm Family ins. they have great rates for landscapers, cranberry growers and farmers.<p>Chris

5. HOMER

HOMER LawnSite Gold Member

AUTO-OWNERS CARRIES MY 300,000.00 POLICY.<p>HOMER

6. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic