1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Licenses in IL

Discussion in 'Network: Central' started by PVLAND, Jan 3, 2005.

PVLAND LawnSite Member

This is my first year going legit and was wondering what type of licenses you need to operate in IL. I have already filed for assumed name and have an IL applicator license. Was wondering what if any additional one I need.
  2. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member

Check for the local villages you plan on working in, and the one you live in. Each may have different requirements. Some also require peddlers permits to pass out door hanger type materials, and it is better to look into that rather than pay the fine if you get caught. Just some things to look for.
  3. marko

marko LawnSite Senior Member

I noticed that alot of the villages require a peddlers permit (usually a buck). They get your personal info, description, and check for felonys (or so they claim). Since you appear to be doing some recearch, please let me know if you do any heavy advertising (door hangers). I would like to know the going rate to get these passed out. Also, on the Il.tax page it states that lawncare does not need to collect sales tax. Good luck

UNISCAPER LawnSite Bronze Member