Licenses / Insurance / LLC or INC?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by adidas15g, Oct 9, 2007.

1. adidas15g

adidas15g LawnSite Member

Hello all,

This is my first time posting on this site, as well as any other lawn care site for that matter. I am very new to the business of landscaping, so I'd like to explain my situation to all of you first.

My current employer just had his contract renegotiated with the landlord. The new contract states that the property in and around the parking lot of the facility is now the responsability of the business, not the landlord anymore. The owner of the company asked me if I would be interested in maintaining the property, to which I agreed to. There is no grass, just mulch, shrubs and a few plants. Pretty small jobs for that matter, but there is some maintenance involved which I know I would be able to do, and I know based on what they paid the landlord in the past for Common Area Maintenance that there is a decent amount of money to be made. In order for me to get paid legitimately, I need to set up either a corporation or LLC.

My questions to all of you are as follows. What licenses are required to run a very small operation such as this being that this will probably be my only contract? Will I need insurance for small jobs such as this? Do you recommend a LLC or a Corporation, and lastly, how much will it cost approximately to start up a LLC or INC in New Jersey?

Thank you all for any insight or information you can provide.
  2. All_Toro_4ME

All_Toro_4ME LawnSite Bronze Member