1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

licensing and experience

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by hubb44, Mar 8, 2005.

1. hubb44

hubb44 LawnSite Member

i have a lawn and landscape company that has a lot of customers in two states. we are adding spraying and fertilizing to our services. i am just now trying to figure out how to get my license. i have no experience with herbicides or anything of that nature. the testing is april 12th for both states. does anyone have suggestions for what i should do for the experience part of my applications. what do i need to do to get accepted to take the exams. besides working for someone is there anything i can do so they will accept me. i make too much money to work for someone else. thanks. hubb44
  2. cemars

cemars LawnSite Senior Member

Maybe you need to hire a licesenced applicator to do this work.
  3. Williams Services

Williams Services LawnSite Senior Member

Ditto on cemars' comment. There's a lot more that goes into chem apps than just possessing a license. There are plenty of guys here that are supposed to be licensed that are hacks. Some suppliers seem to be clueless ...

Anyhow, you need to be familiar with certain principles and characteristics of chemicals/chem classes/plant responses, etc. You may be raking in the dough, but you can put a hurting on your business real quick if you jump in head first and nuke a few landscapes.
  4. Macvols

Macvols LawnSite Member

Then follow all Directions!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (on the pesticides label you are using)
    Simply reading and following Direction precisely!

This is not Rocket Science but there are many on here that will disagree!
    Opinions vary!
  5. GroundKprs

GroundKprs LawnSite Bronze Member