lighting flagpole

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by roady, Aug 21, 2006.

1. roady

roady LawnSite Member

Hey guys, first let me introduce myself. My name is Mike and live in Md and I am new to your forums. I have done a bunch of reading on the site and there is a bunch of useful info on here. My question is I have a 30' flagpole in my yard and want to light it up. I did a search and only found one thread on this. I need to know what type of fixture to use and if I should use low voltage or line voltage. I am a journeyman electrician so I can handle it either way. I think I would prefer inground type but not set on it quite yet. I think something above ground would be easier to set up and align. I would apreciate any info that you all can provide, thanks.

Mike

2. Pro-Scapes

Pro-Scapes LawnSite Platinum Member

Hi Mike welcome to the site. Your right TONS of good info on here. Alot of these guys have alot more info than I do.

Whats the area around the flag pole like ? turf ? planting beds ??? concrete ?

a 35 to 50 watt low voltage well light (3 of them) in a triangulated pattern will light up a flag nice. If your in planting beds or mulched area or an area with lots of leaves and pinestraw you would want to use an above grade fixture. If its a lawn area you would be best off with an in ground well light.

I might be mistaken.. is a 30 ft pole standard size ? if its shorter than normal you may be able to adjust the wattage.

3. roady

roady LawnSite Member

Billy, right now it is grass around the pole other then about a 2' square base but I plan on next year in the spring putting some type of landscaping bed around it. The pole is 30' not standard but I live on a 10 acre site and about 700' from road and didnt want the pole to look small from road. Can you recommend a type of fixture and where to get as well as how far away from pole the fixture needs to be. Thanks fo rthe help

4. NightScenes

NightScenes LawnSite Silver Member