Lightweight Equipment.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by SouthernFried, Aug 1, 2004.

1. SouthernFried

SouthernFried LawnSite Senior Member

I have been using Shindaiwa t27's for almost 15+ yrs...and I guess that's the problem. I'm finding them more burdesome to carry each passing year.

I'm looking to go lighter...much lighter. As light as possible, and still hold up commercially. I do well-maintained residential properties only...and some of them are over an acre of beds/walks/driveways...fully manicured and landscaped, so a lotta trimming.

Anyway, I have read about Shindaiwa t30's and was thinking about getting one...but I've heard the new 4 cycle t31 just doesn't have enough power.

What's your favorite brand and model of lightweight trimmers? I know Echo's can be light...but, every peice of echo equipment I've bought over the yrs (mostly hedgers), just haven't held up. Stihl seems to make good stuff, but, they all seem heavy to me (everything seems heavy to me these days ;) )

Since I've used Shindaiwa t27's exlusively...I know very little about other trimmers.

BTW, I still think the Shindaiwa t27 has got to be one of the best trimmers out there. They hold up year after year, and I have never ran into a situation where I didn't have enough power. These things have been tanks, and I have nothing bad to say about them.

'Cept they tend to weigh more after using them awhile.

Any lightweight/durable hedge trimmer recommendations would be appreciated too :)

2. premier lawn care

premier lawn care LawnSite Member
    from Tx

RedMax bcz 2600s, I've got 12 and love them

3. Tharrell

Tharrell LawnSite Silver Member

Check out Robin products if you have them around your area. They make a model under this one that most of the guys around here use. I chose the 25cc model but, it's a little more money.

lawn equip to post 003.jpg

4. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member