1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

lime questions?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Amco Landscaping, Jul 11, 2007.

1. Amco Landscaping

Amco Landscaping LawnSite Member

Will lime make my grass greener. I have never used lime before on my lawn so I am trying to find out as much info as possible. Any help is appreciated

2. crab

crab LawnSite Senior Member

depends on ph ,get soil test .i am sure you have a place that tests in the area.:laugh:
  3. Tadams

Tadams LawnSite Senior Member

Lime will not make your grass greener. Lime raises the ph of the soil. Grass absorbs nutrients (fertilzer) at a certain ph. If your soil has a low ph then you would apply lime to raise it. 50 pounds per 1000 sf will raise the ph 1/2 point. You don't want to put down more than this at one time. The best thing is to get a soil sample and have it analyzed. It will tell you what you need.
  4. muddstopper

muddstopper LawnSite Silver Member