1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Limestone Retaining Wall

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Husky, Aug 25, 2004.

1. Husky

Husky LawnSite Member

I've never done one before and I know doing it with these kind of uneven rocks can be difficult?

How do you wall building pros figure for the time it will take???

and how do you figure for the estimate,,ihave no clue what to charge to do this wall?

some info is,,,wall at highest is 2 feet for about 15' then 1 foot and tapering down to zero for another 10'

i don't know how to figure how many of the stones i will need?
    i know they come on a pallet is all..lol

i dont know how long the job will take me,,,,

i need bout 3 yards of dirt and some stone,,,guys give me all the infor u can on this,,i love experience and i do a damn good job weither i take a lose or not,,help me out here,,
  2. EagleLandscape

EagleLandscape LawnSite Platinum Member
    Male, from Garland, Texas

Find out the surface area of the wall, and then find out the surface area of the stones. Then divide the surface area of the wall by the total surface area of a stone. Then multiply that by about 10-20%(since its your first wall) and that will be the amount of stones needed.

Have you thought about backfill material, drainage? Obviously this isnt a segmented wall and you will have to have some sort of draining base. What about a foundation? Since your wall is 2 feet high you will need to have atleast 5 inches below grade. Talk to D Felow and REX in the Comercial Landscape forum, they know alot more than I do. Good luck.
  3. Mikes Lawn Landscape

Mikes Lawn Landscape LawnSite Senior Member
    from Texas