Limited choices for WB... any advise on these?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Striper, Mar 11, 2003.

1. Striper

Striper LawnSite Member
    from WV

Hello everyone,
    I am just getting started in the lawn care business this year. My past experience is in Landscape design and installation. After deciding to leave my current job and trying it on my own, I see the need for adding lawn care to my business. It will be a good steady flow of income and I can still do small landscaping jobs. I'm going solo for the first year and plan on growing each year. I already have a Pickup truck and a trailer just need a mower, It will be my only big purchase this year.
    I have read through many threads and not many talk about the mowers that are available in my area. I want a 48" walk behind Hydro with a floating deck. Here are my choices: (these are all similar models with all the features I am looking for)
    Snapper Pro Hydro 15 hp Kohler $4,900.00, 2 yr warranty
    Cub Cadet 17 hp Kaw $4,800.00, 3 yr warranty
    Toro Pro Line 15 hp Kohler $4,730.00, 2yr warranty
    Great Dane Scamper 17hp Kaw $4,770.00, 1yr warranty

The reason I don't want to travel to get an Ex-mark or Scag is I want to have a local dealer to work with.

Any suggestions help, Thanks

2. Bruceslc

Bruceslc LawnSite Member
    from 6

Cub is made for more of a homeowner- Was told this by a Cub Dealer. Second I haven't even seen a snapper wb around. I see a lot of toro's around. I had a encore for 7 yrs and also have hustlers. Good luck.:eek:

3. IBGreen

IBGreen LawnSite Senior Member

Of all the ones listed, I'd have to say go with Toro.

4. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

I would stay away from cub cadet. I had a 48" hydro with floater when they were MTD. It was a good machine, but the catching system stunk. Got rid of it. They are all over eBay now for dirt cheap. Wonder why. :D

5. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic