Liquid cooled vs air cooled

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by C&K, Jan 4, 2007.

1. C&K

C&K LawnSite Senior Member
    from East TN

I looked at scags at two diff. dealers and I got diff oppinions comparing the 27hp air cooled kohler and the 27hp liquid cooled kawasaki. The mower with the air cooled kohler was priced $200.00 less than the liquid cooled.
    I have no experience with liquid cooled engines on mowers. Anyone have any input on which is better...power, cost to upkeep etc.

2. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE LawnSite Bronze Member

Well with lc they have a life at double to air cooled for $200 bucks i would buy the lc and the resale value is better.

3. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

Turf tiger.....

4. C&K

from East TN

Yes...Turf Tiger 60' w/LQ kaw 8999.99, w/air kohler 8799.99 06 models (NEW)

5. lawnpro724

lawnpro724 LawnSite Silver Member

Kawasaki had problem with there liquid cooled engines a couple years ago but has since been fixed and both engines are good ones. I would go with the liquid cooled kaw for longer engine life although the air cooled engine of either company will last around 1500 - 2000 hrs with good maintnance.

6. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

61 inch cut 2007 models

7. C&K

from East TN

They are 61".....my bad

8. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

That price is not that bad, here they are asking low 9ks.

9. chuck bow

chuck bow LawnSite Senior Member