liquid nitro apps for damaged lawn

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by steck, Jul 16, 2008.

1. steck

steck LawnSite Member
    from ontario

referencing my thread about my dead/yellow grass....

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=238977

i just hit the local fertilizer supply company and got two 5 gallon pails of 28% liquid fertilizer.

i have a tow behind sprayer to get the lawn a kick start back to decent shape.

the lady behind counter said 1 litre for 100 litres of water (apprx mix ratio of 100:1)

sound about right ??...or would 50:1 be appropriate too :weightlifter:

i'm a relative noob to all this / will be watering it slightly after application

anything else ? :canadaflag:

2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

StecK

The 28% sure sounds like a UAN which is a slow release. But I believe you have the cart before the horse with this question. First we need to know the condition of the lawn before suggesting a Rate.

3. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

I would not apply it. You might burn it again. Worse yet, you will probably not apply enough to help the grass.

Did you clean out your sprayer yet? Did you test it on your own yard to be sure it was clean? Did you calibrate the sprayer? You failed to mention how many gallons per thousand sq feet are applied? Or do you use litres per hectare? Or don't know?

You are best off in warm weather with a quality granular fertilizer with at least 50 percent of the nitrogen formulated as slow release. Apply about a pound of actual nitrogen. Calibrate your spreader and apply it evenly. Water it in. If you want faster growth--apply again in about 3 weeks. IBDU is the best slow release, methylene urea is also good, sulfer coated is satisfactory.

4. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest

Sounds like my brother-in-law did the app.:laugh:

Hey -- what's up with the liter thing?? American boys deal in gallons and twelve ounce beers.:laugh:

Take care. :canadaflag: