1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Liquid or Granular HELP NEEDED!

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by tjcezar, Feb 21, 2007.

1. tjcezar

tjcezar LawnSite Member
    from PA

Is liquid fert in general more or less than granular. I am new to this and am currently studying for licensing. I am putting together a bid for total landscape service and need to price for a 1. early spring application of a liquid pre-emergent hebicide for control of grassy weeds, plus broadleaf control and a balanced fertilizer 2. a late spring app of a timed release balanced fertilizer, a liquid broadleaf herbicide, and an insecticeide for surface feeding, turf damaging insects.
    I need to do this on 5 properties that are an average of 7000-14000 sq ft.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!!
  2. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

You do not mention if you have equipment suitable for liquid--that is capable of 3 gallons per 1000 sqft. So...i suggest granular fertilizer with crabgrass control. Cost a little more because you will get some slow release. Cheaper in the long run because it is quicker to apply.
    Do the second application with granular fertilizer--follow up with liquid weed control.
    The first application is often too early and too cold for weed control, but if you need it, apply as a liquid in a separate step.
  3. tremor

tremor LawnSite Bronze Member

Soluble N soruce liquids are generally about the same cost once you overcome the storage issues. Triazone based slow release N is a lot more expensive than most of the granular forms that are popular today.

That said, the was the ethanol boys keep buying land contracts & urea, even granular is going to be hard for some people to get.
  4. tjcezar

tjcezar LawnSite Member
    from PA