Llc, Incorporated

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by JACKSONBRIT, Nov 24, 2002.

1. JACKSONBRIT

JACKSONBRIT LawnSite Member
    from ALABAMA

Hi All,

I am a owner operator of Montgomery Lawn Service in Huntsville Alabama, I would like to know a little more about being incorporated, the benefits, pros, cons and the requirements.
    Thanks.
    Johnny

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

I went from Sole Proprietor to LLC last January. An attorney can explain to you the benefits in no more than 1 hour. I would strongly suggest you see one to find out if this is the right path for you to go.

3. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

I have a good friend who recently graduated from law school with honors and is now working for a top law firm on the East Coast. I asked him not to long ago about this and below is the text of the email he wrote back. You may find it interesting. (Keep in mind, this was a discussion among friends so his lingo is a little loose :)

4. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Jim,

I agree with most of what your friend had to say...other than using the "do-it-yourself" kits and saving a lot of money.

I tried it that way first. Big mistake. Why? These companies on the internet who say they will form the LLC for you DO NOT offer legal advice. I wasted a couple of hundred dollars because I thought in the off-season I would form our LLC by myself and use one of them. Duh.

Sure, they do the name check for you and perform the filing with the State and Fed, but that is about it. They can't tell whether a LLC is right for you...only an attorney can.

5. benjamin

benjamin LawnSite Member
    from MI

An LLC is an entity recognized on the state level. For tax purposes an LLC is the same as sole proprietorship unless other designations are chosen.

6. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic