1. columbiaplower

columbiaplower LawnSite Senior Member

I am interested in getting a loader for snow removal, salt loading, landscape work. What brand, type, size do you all reccomend,use or have?Should i get a large wheel loader or a tracter loaderor skid loader? Thanks<p>Nick

2. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

OK thats a hard one to answer.<p>A kubota 450 or 540 is great for landscaping, and loading salt, but can't more much snow.<p>A cat 916 is great for moving snow and loading sand and salt, but won't work for landscaping.<p>Geoff

3. Lazer

Lazer LawnSite Bronze Member

We own a 2000 Bobcat 773. Lease a 1999 Cat 914G and a Komatsu 380. We've landscaped with a Kubota 510.<p>I say to so you know I have some experience.<p>Geoff's right on the money.

4. Lazer

Lazer LawnSite Bronze Member

Okay, what about a Cat 906: 11,000 lb. 60 hp articulator. Could IT do both?

5. paul

paul Lawnsite Addict

How about the New Holland W-50 9,000 lbs,<br>1 cu.yd, or 1.5 cu.yd.<p>unless you have really big landscaping jobs the larger wheel loaders are too big for landscaping. They are needed for snow removal. look at leasing for the winter or get on the good side (spend alot of money) of you local dealer for rental on a as need bases<p>----------<br>paul<br>

6. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Maybe you should check out either a mid size back hoe. Which would move snow ok, not as well as a loader. Would load salt and other stuff great. Only would be a big landscaping tractor. Or look at a good size farm tractor. I have one of those New Holland 2016, it can move mountains of snow, only doesn't cycle as fast as a kubota loader. Only the New Holland is a very versital machine. <p>Geoff

7. n y snow pros

n y snow pros LawnSite Senior Member