Long post, but I need serious help please!!

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by g-scapes, Sep 13, 2004.

1. g-scapes

g-scapes LawnSite Member

This is a long one, but I want to give as much info as I can for good help. I am in my first year here, and do a mixture of mowing and landscaping...pretty much whatever is thrown my way as long as it is for the right price. I have been referred to a guy who could have the job that I need badly. Lots of work, but the reward would be that I could purchase equipment. I do this part-time, but would like to go full-time next spring. Here is the situation, and please give any advice you have. Guy has a back yard that at one point was terraced because it goes pretty much straight up hill. He has a first level that is at the level of his house and that is about 20-25 feet deep, then a 4 1/2 foot tall stone wall. Whoever did the wall didn't dry stack it, they mortared every stone in place, so it will be a pain to get out. Okay, so above the first wall is a muddy area that is about 30 feet deep and maybe around 100' long. Then there is the next stone wall, maybe another 4 1/2 feet tall, but it only goes 1/3 of the way up this next hill, so the mud above wall on the slope slides down. Above this slope is a grass path, about a car width deep, which is the third level, then another hill up to the top level. The top level is where the kids play, and it is high...you are above the roofline of the house up there, but everything else is so muddy that the kids can't play any lower. So, he has a huge mess on his hands, and step one is to remove that whole second level, bring it down to the level of the first level so grass can be planted and the kids can have an actual backyard. It works out to about 200 cubic yards of topsoil that would need to be removed, and then that second stone wall would have to also be extended down about 5 or 6 feet. I need some help on a couple of things....how to cheaply remove that much s