1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Look at the check they write you GOOD

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by sheshovel, May 13, 2005.

1. sheshovel

sheshovel LawnSite Fanatic

Did a small job for some clients I have been working for one job or so a year for ten years,maint,relandscapes,stuff like that,
    They have a ranch about 25mi away,so 50 mi round trip.She wrote a check for the amount owed.I THOUGHT. All I looked at is the $850.00 in the little box,saw the 1st word Eight in the long part and looked no further.
    Got home and she had written
    Eight &50/100 ..$8.50 not
    Eight hundred fifty and 00/100 $850.00
    So nowI will have to go all the way back again
    to get a new check written out.Who eats the time and gas ME!! :angry:
    Read your checks!!or mabey I will try to sneak it past the instateller machine or will it KNOW?
  2. Mueller Landscape Inc

Mueller Landscape Inc LawnSite Senior Member

Did she get the numerical portion right or did she write $8.50 there too? I would not try to sneak it past if the check is for only $8.50. Might have the feds come knockin.
  3. Mats

Mats LawnSite Bronze Member

Why don't you just call and have her mail you a new check?
  4. Precision Lawns

Precision Lawns LawnSite Senior Member

I have a friend who writes checks like this - they owed us money once and wrote "Three hundred and 50/100" ($300.50) for $350.00, but wrote the number correctly in the little box. I had no problem depositing it for the correct amount at the bank since the amount in the box was right. Some people just never learned how to write checks in check-writing school. See if the bank will let you deposit it as-is, since the numbers in the box are right.
  5. Grass Masters

Grass Masters LawnSite Member
    from NC