1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

looking at purchasing a lawn maint. business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by hawaii-kai, Apr 2, 2007.

1. hawaii-kai

hawaii-kai LawnSite Member
    from chicago

I am looking to purchase an existing lawn maintence business. The price is $300,000. The gross proceeds are $280,000. There is about $50,000 worth of equipment. $180,000 is reoccuring accounts, and the rest would be one shot deals such as spraying. I am new to this business, I come form a construction background. What I am trying to determine, is whether this a fair price, and what type of due dilligence should I be doing as I look at this picticular company.
  2. lawnman_scott

lawnman_scott LawnSite Fanatic

I would look at what the net revenue is compared to the gross. Alot of people might say the price is high and to be honest those numbers are about what I do and for $300,000 I would sell tonight. You have peaked my intrest. For $300,000 I could part with my business.
  3. hawaii-kai

from chicago

the owner of the company says the net should be around $213,000
  4. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member

I would get an accountant to view their books to make sure what he is stating is true to its value. That's a big chunk of change to drop down into something that might make you drown, being that your new to this business and what not. GL with whatever you choose to do!
  5. supercuts

supercuts LawnSite Silver Member