Looking for a lawn care provider and some advice...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by pryker, May 9, 2004.

1. pryker

pryker LawnSite Member

I posted this in homeowner forum and thought I would try it here (Moderator, please do not shoot me!!)

I am new to lawnsite. I have been reading the posts here for a month or so and I have learned a lot. I just purchased a home on 3.5 acres and I am what you might call a lawn fanatic... I love to have a green lawn free of weeds that is kept mowed and trimmed. I simply enjoy mowing. I have a wife and two kids and have a desk job so my only real excersize is taking care of the lawn. I love the smell of freshly cut grass, the outdoors and making pretty striping patterns on the lawns... Yes, I know... I am a bit overboard.

My previous houses have all been on 1/2 acre or less and the lawns were fairly healthy. I core aerated once a year, fertilized with lesco 4 times a year and mowed regularly. Lawns always looked great.

Now I have a much larger challenge on my hands and thought maybe I could ask you pros a question or two to help me get started. My questions are diverse and cover both turf maintenence and irrigation. Well, here goes...

1. Most of my 3.5 acres is lawn. About 3/4 of it is flat and smooth. The flat and smooth area has about 25% weeds. The other 1/4 of the lawn was a field that the previous owner had the neighbor bush hog 4 times a year. It is rough (bumpy from the tractor wheels I think) and probably 65% weeds. I want to start "finish" mowing that area and bring it up to the standards of the rest of the lawn. So my question... As I do not want to redo that whole bumpy section and would rather slowly over several years return it to lush lawn again what would be a recommended plan of approach??