Looking for a mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CCS, Jul 22, 2008.

1. CCS

CCS LawnSite Member

Hey guys,this will be my first post so take it easy on me.

I am by no means a professional when it comes to lawn care.I cut a cemetary which all together is is around 3 to 4 acres.Probably about half is in the actual headstones and the other is open.I try and control the bahaya grass so most is centipede.I use a 20 yr. old JD stx 38,but it is in the shop and I don't know if it will survive ornot.
    The cemetary is easy to mow.Headstones are straight and foot markers are all close to the ground.Using my deere it takes me around 5 hrs. to mow.
    I have been looking at mowers the last two weeks and good LORD there are a bunch of models out there.
    These are a couple that i am interested in.Need feedback, or there might be another one to look at another one that might be good.
    Husqvarna IZ 4217w/17horse kawasaki
    Bobcat fastcat w/36''cut w/17horse kawasaki
    Hustler commerical DutyZ 36''cut w/17kawasaki.
    I only mow it about 8 times ayear.
    I cut my yard with a kabota tractor with a 5ft. finishing mower ,so this is the only place it will probably get used.
    Thanks for all your help.

2. mowerbrad

mowerbrad LawnSite Fanatic

First thing you should look at is what dealers are closest to you, once you find those dealers choose which one is has the best service, reputation and staff. You always want to buy from a good, reliable dealer. There is nothing worse than a bad dealer. I have be pretty happy with my bob-cat. I think the fast cat will be able to cut what you need and do a good job with it for a while. Have you thought about looking at any hydro walkbehinds? Those will allow you more manuverability, especially in tight areas. Also do some searching on this site about different models and mowers, there should be plenty of threads that could help you.

3. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic