Looking for guidance on getting those commercial accounts

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mr. Von, Nov 17, 2003.

1. Mr. Von

Mr. Von LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

I have been mowing lawns for many years, mostly small personal accounts. I have several condo complexes, churches and other misc. businesses that I would definately benefit from nearby, if only I knew where to start and who the best people to contact would be at these places.
    I know that most condos have trustees or a management board of some sort, churches also have this set-up I assume, but what is the best way, best person and best time to contact? I assume that bidding is done either late in the year or early (before March) for our seasonal weather here in Ohio. Would appreciate the help form all of you seasoned veterans. ;-)

2. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

3. A1 Lawn@Landscapes

A1 Lawn@Landscapes LawnSite Member

Why do you want commercial accounts ?

Around here their only perpose is to keep large crews busy in one place. They are mostly all way underbid out this way with no loyalty to the contractor. Price is their only consideration.

4. Mr. Von

Mr. Von LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

Thanks Gopher!! Very informative.

As for the question on why commercial?-- There is an abundance of opportunity around me, thought it might be worth a shot!?!

5. mike espinola

mike espinola LawnSite Member

hi i just started my landscape bussiness and would like tips on commercial lawn care like on biding and other things.

6. lbmd1

lbmd1 LawnSite Senior Member