Looking for help buying a backpack blower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by joeco129, Oct 16, 2008.

1. joeco129

joeco129 LawnSite Member

I'm looking for a backpack blower for my personal use. I'm not a landscaper, I'm a residential remodeling contractor... I've been looking at my local HD and Lowes and been comparing A Husquavarna and an Echo. Both seem to have models from $200 to about $320...

I did notice the Husky 150BT California backpack $320 is only a 40cc/175mph/438cfm and the Echo @ $320 is a 44cc/154mph/830cfm and seems to have more creature comforts like cruise control... Any of you use either or both?

Any suggestions or comments I appreciate? Or things I should stay away from?

I also saw a 32cc Troy Built 4 cycle for $239.00... 150mph/475cfm only 15lbs too... Good deal or not?

I want something to last a long time and don't mind paying for it... Are 2 cycles that much better than a 4 cycle?

Husky does have a 25cc/140mph for $189.00... Doesn't even list the cfm's. Is this a cheapo?

Thanks again to anyone who replies... My back and my yard appreciate it!!!

2. Going Commercial

Going Commercial LawnSite Member

I would buy a Stihl blower. They have many models to choose from. You may be able to buy a better hand-held with enough power for what you need. There is a reason why you won't find a Stihl at Lowes or Home Depot

3. karlgrooms

karlgrooms LawnSite Member

Got a husky 145bt about 6 years ago at Lowe's for home use. I picked up a yard, then two and on to now twelve.. The Husky has performed flawlessly with absolutely zero problems and no TLC... It has spent the last four years on my truck or on the trailer out in the weather. It always starts by the second pull.

This year I upgraded to a more powerful Stihl br600 cause I knew there was something more. The br600 is awesome, quiet, and tons more powerful. I can't believe how much more I can move with this unit.