1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Looking for some advise

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by CrystalCreek, Jan 22, 2008.

1. CrystalCreek

CrystalCreek LawnSite Bronze Member

This is my first post and let me start by saying this site has been so helpful. I have been viewing it for a few months and finally joined. Thanks to all the pros for their advise and wisdom.:clapping::clapping:

I am stuck in a position.;) I work full time at the local Power Company. Steady job with some benefits. It is decent pay for what I do, but my heart has always been for the lawns. I have been cutting since I was 13, and started working for local guys both big and small when I was 15. I am now 26, single, and living at home. I have a route of about 25, and still growing work my full time job 40 plus hours, and still assist other landscapers when time permits. I went legal last year with full insurance and all the fixin's.

Here is the catch. The benefits at my job keep getting cut, the hours keep getting longer with more time away from my passions, and my heart is growing tired of the power company. I am thinking of leaving in the spring and going full time. I feel it is now or never. As mentioned earlier, I really have no responsibilities to anyone else. I have built a large inventory of equipment and supplies. I have a decent amount of money saved up. I should be able to survive for a few years until the business gets up to full steam.

Am I insane???:confused:

Sorry for the long post. Please let me know what you feel.
  2. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT

Welcome to LawnSite. Was your question asking if you are insane?