looking for suggestions

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by MSgardener, Feb 26, 2003.

1. MSgardener

MSgardener LawnSite Member
    from 9A

I am a first time user. I am not a professional in the lawncare business but rather an owner of property on the Mississippi Gulf Coast who hopes to retire there someday. I enjoy visiting the forum to pick up useful tips. I own 3.2 acres of flat land with few trees (at this time). I commute 1 hour and twenty minutwes to get to my property. In the summer time the grass grows very fast due to summer heat and rain. I own a 1988 Toro Groundsmaster with a 72" outfront deck powered by a 31 hp diesel. I have replaced all the spindles at least once and sometimes twice in the 2 1/2 years I have owned it. The mower was pretty well abused by the previous owner. He held the grass cutting contract for many of the schools in my hometown. The engine is about 5 years old which is really why I bought it . My dealer gives me excellent service and he loaned me an exmark lazer hp with a 60" deck the last time my machine went down. I thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. My time is limited and the machine gave me a fast but clean cut. In the summer, the max I can go without cutting the grass is approx 11 days. Otherwise it really puts a strain on my TORO. The one thing I am not able to do easily is adjust the height of my TORO. You set it at the beginning of the season with spacers and that is what you are stuck with. Anyway, I am looking for suggestions. I thought the Exmark was great and want to know what you guys who use them day in and day out would suggest I buy. My funds are limited but the ZTR struck me as the way to go. In terms of model, hp and cutting deck, what would you suggest I buy? I realize this is a very generalized question but appreciate any suggestions. Thanks in advance.

2. eXmark

eXmark Manufacturer / Sponsor

MSGardener,