1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Looking for work

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by garyt, Mar 16, 2006.

1. garyt

garyt LawnSite Member

I am new to the lawn care business and am only planning to do it part time.

I have started passing out door hangars of which I have done around 200 so far without a single call.

I have had an ad in the paper for two weeks now with only 1 call. Someone wanting me to clean trees and brush off the side of a hill.

I'm still planning on doing more hangars but I expected to at least have had the 1% call return on what I have done. Perhaps it's still too early yet. I'm in Southern Indiana and it's getting close to cutting time.

How is everyone else fairing so far? Are you new to the business?

TURF DOCTOR LawnSite Silver Member

Welcome to the world of lawn care,it will take you 5 years to get your name out if you work mabye sooner.
  3. Trinity Lawn Care  LLC

Trinity Lawn Care LLC LawnSite Senior Member
    from NJ

Hey Gary,

It may still be a little early. How don't know what the weather has been like there. Here it wa almost 80 the other day and now it is down in the 30's -50's. When it is chilly many people are not thinking about their lawn.
  4. echovalley

echovalley LawnSite Member
    from CT

It is still early,we are in 4 papers in 14 towns[about 90k people].One call in the last two weeks.
  5. kosty

kosty LawnSite Member

to many lawn care providers, i learned the hard way spending 7500 on worthless crap. just dont spend alot on equipment till u get a lot of accts to pay for it.
  6. ALarsh

ALarsh LawnSite Silver Member
    from Midwest