Looking to purchase a new Scag SWZ 36 Hydro walk behind. But need a little help first

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawn411, Jan 27, 2008.

1. lawn411

lawn411 LawnSite Member
    from Idaho

Im looking to buy a new scag swz 36" hydro walk behind. My dealer has on 07 model on the floor from last year and is asking $4999.99. He says the 07s are the exact same as the 08s. And informed me if i wanted an 08 he could sell it to me for $5399.99. this is my first time buying anything more then a 21 inch walk behind from a dealer so i was looking to get a little guidance as to whether i should settle for the 07 or get the 08. also what are your dealers asking for a new swz 36 hydro? and what should i offer my dealer for the mower? i appreciate any help.

2. stevenf

stevenf LawnSite Bronze Member

Around here, For $6,000.00 you can get a Scag Tiger cub 26/48". I would go that route before I bought a $5,000.00 WB. Just my opinion.

3. Mike Blevins

Mike Blevins LawnSite Bronze Member

Scag has 3 different models. The first is the swzu "ultimate" which has a floating deck. Second is the new Pro-V walk that also has a floating deck with alot of new features.You should ask your dealer if he has heard anything about this one. Third is the "fixed" deck which I have owned and used. I beleive in this area you can find 07 36 "fixed" deck for around $4300-$4900 depending on the dealer. I feel that your dealer should work with you on an 07 model. Like everything else they depreciate also. These mower are bulletproof and the pistol grips have become very easy to use. I am still throwing around the idea of a new 17 kaw 48 "fixed for this spring to go with my new Tiger. You have chosen the best mower now its time to go get it! :weightlifter: Good luck!

4. lawn411

lawn411 LawnSite Member
    from Idaho