Looking to Purchase CTL - Advice Needed.

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by vvanherk, May 11, 2008.

1. vvanherk

vvanherk LawnSite Member
    from ON

Hello.

I have a small hobby farm and I'm looking for a CTL to do some work around the farm, and possibly weekend contract work.

I will want to do your basic digging, grading, snowblowing, etc. Also, we have 30 acres of bush, and I would like a larger tree chipper attachment for cleaning some things up. I make trails and what not for the horses.

I'm not really biased to any brand. There are a couple of bobcat dealers close enough, a Cat dealer is a little bit further, and there is also an ASV dealer in decent enough proximity.

I will put minimal hours on this thing. I work in the IT industry during the week, so hours will just here and there on the weekend.

Even though I will not be putting on a lot of hours, I want to buy a quality machine that will last, and have good resale. Also, if my current work goes into a slump, then I can pick up some work using this machine, so I want some thing that is flexible, can use most attachments, and will not let me down.

Anywho, any input into this purchase decision would be appreciated.

I live in Ontario Canada.

Regards,
    Vic

2. bobcat_ron

bobcat_ron LawnSite Fanatic

If I had to do it all over again from the ground up, I'd go with a Takeuchi even if I didn't have a dealer close by, they are the only true purpose built CTL out there (other than ASV) You still can find people with ASV problems, but very few with any major problems associated with the Takeuchi's.

3. ksss

ksss LawnSite Fanatic