Lost the 2nd, 3rd and 4th biggest accounts yesterday

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LwnmwrMan22, Mar 20, 2008.

1. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

I'm a solo op.

This will be my 20th year.

I had a large national retailer based out of Arkansas that I'd been doing the location since the store opened, about 12 years ago.

This year I raised the price from $60 per hour to $75 per hour.

I'd been doing it at $60 per hour for about 5 years now.

I have 2 fairly large strip malls that I've been doing for 15 years. I raised them from $900 per month to $1100 and $1200 per month. The last price increase was 5 years ago.

I have another large non-profit place that I did. I did not raise their price this year, since it was the first year in business last year.

All of these I've lost to people charging $50 per hour or less.

I don't understand.

For me, it's about $30,000 / year in business, about 25% of my gross.

I understand I have a larger overhead than most solo ops, but I tried to break down the numbers, and do not see how these people can make an amount of money that keeps them wanting to do this business.

If company A is only going to gross $20 per hour, GROSS, not NET, on top of employee wages, I would immediately sell out and go to work for someone else.

I thought I had a decent market. Apparently not so.

2. stbentoak

stbentoak LawnSite Member

I own a buisness with over 2 MM dollars of hi tech computerized machinery and if I charge over 50.00 a man hr I can't win any jobs and my people get laid off...Too much competition for good jobs, including China.
    And I have to pay their ins and 401K and the list goes on and on, so I can't see how someone solo can't make it at 60.00 hr......

3. grass-scapes

grass-scapes LawnSite Bronze Member