1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Lots of leads... having trouble closing.

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Rayholio, Mar 29, 2006.

1. Rayholio

Rayholio LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm in my second year, and my advertizing is really paying off.. (or so I thought)..

Last year, I closed 90% of delivered quotes.. But I didn't have any formal advertizing. This year, I've done a home show, door hangers, Chamber of Commerce, and even some radio advertizing... In the last 30 days, I've had around 50 quotes go out.. of those I've been able to get strait answers out of approx. 10 of the customers, either on the phone, or in person. 2 of those have been closed... 8 said no... prices too high.. competitor got the job... etc. 20% close rate is not good enough for me.

So.. how do I close more of these? Right now, I typically go look at the lawn, and then mail the customer quote a couple days later, the following week I call on them to close. Is there a better way?

Maybe I should try to make time to deliver the quote in person, and make them tell me yay, or nay right there?? Sad thing is it's hard to come up with that time..
  2. Tscape

Tscape LawnSite Bronze Member

You shouldn't put the customer on the spot by asking for a "yay or nay". You may want to call after they have had a couple of days to look over your quote just to ask them if they have any questions about it, not to seek an answer for your question. The soft sell approach works best for me.

Perhaps it is worth a re-examination of your pricing. Or perhaps, for your price, you deliver a high quality service, in which case you may want to learn to be happy with a 20% close rate. Do what you do and do it well.
  3. GrazerZ

GrazerZ LawnSite Senior Member