Lowballer making me look bad

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by evergreenlawn, Jun 10, 2001.

1. evergreenlawn

evergreenlawn LawnSite Member

I lost a cemetery this year that I have been doing for the last seven years. The guy cutting it has missed special cuttings the cemetery requires and has broken two head stones. He also leaves grass all over the stones. The problem is most people assume I still mow the cemetery. The trustees know whats going on and can not get this guy to return there calls. What should be done to let the people know I dont maintain the property anymore?

I found this info out from one of the trustees and he said they were trying to get rid of the guy.

2. Guido

Guido LawnSite Silver Member

The reason you lost the account? That would piss me off too. I understand exactly what your saying. Do you think they learned they're lesson yet? Or when they fire this guy, or his contract runs out are they still going to go with the low bidder?

Its a shame we let people like that even exist in the industry. Not enough people want to get educated and change their pricing techniques to match industry standards in their area. They only look at their bottom line, As long as they're making money they don't care if they bring the whole industry down with them.

People should see the work he's doing, and realize its not you. I can't think if any other way of notifying people that your not doing it anymore, sorry.

Word of mouth gets around, so once you set a few people straight about your status at this job, it should spread as fast as any bad rumors going around.

Have you tried introduing yourself to this LCO, and maybe bringing him here for advice? It may help, who know's.

Good Luck !

3. jjfehr

jjfehr LawnSite Member

press release in the local paper! not rude-like, just letting people know that you no longer maintain the cemetary and that the xxxx company now maintains the property.
    Never tried this before, but it is worth a try!