Managing customers/weather

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by MowCo, Apr 8, 2006.

1. MowCo

MowCo LawnSite Member

I'm new to the business and I'm the customers are coming at a pretty rapid rate. I'm wondering when I should stop taking new customers. Right now I'm putting customers on a schedule and I'm wondering if I should leave a day in each week open for makeup work that I missed due to weather. Should I worry about being overloaded if I fill up Monday thru Friday with appointements?

2. cwlawley

cwlawley LawnSite Senior Member

Now is the time you can start weeding through your customers. Why stop taking them? Go to them for estimates and give them a higher estimate. If you make more money on them, why keep the people you make less money with?

3. MowCo

MowCo LawnSite Member

but I guess what I'm asking is if I would ideally like to work 5 days a week, should I fill up my schedule with regular customers for 4 days? 4 1/2? How much time does everyone else leave unscheduled for rainy day makup work and odd jobs?

4. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

It's not always pretty the first season, but take what you can get and if you get full, you can then start weeding out the bad accounts (low profit or poor location)

You must be getting a heck of a response rate to be worried about this already :)

5. TURF DOCTOR

TURF DOCTOR LawnSite Silver Member

Heck man take all the new customers on,we lose a few every season but we always pick up some like yesterday we lost a 10k a year commercial property for bids, lowballers chewing the price so low there is no profit,but i picked up three residentials that covered my loss,if your week is full don't take em we do .

6. StBalor

StBalor LawnSite Senior Member

I know i like to take on alot of customers and really work my a$$ of in the spring. Even with no days off, unless it rains. Cause it gets slow for me in the summer months and i'm glad i have those extra customers during that time of year.