Massachussetts license test??

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by upidstay, Mar 26, 2013.

1. upidstay

upidstay LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Anybody here have or had a Massachussetts pesticide license? Wondering how hard the test is, whether I should take the class, or just wing it. I'm licensed in CT, and our supervisory test is about as hard as it gets. I have many years of experience as an applicator, a pesticide dealer, and running fert businesses.

2. nighthawk117

nighthawk117 LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

With your background, no problem. Take the test

3. DEPENDABLE LANDSCAPING

DEPENDABLE LANDSCAPING LawnSite Bronze Member

Go ahead and take the class. What's the worst that happens is you gain a little more knowledge. I have my Mass. License . Took the test about 7 years ago.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. Hissing Cobra

Hissing Cobra LawnSite Senior Member

The test is difficult - if you do not study. I took it back in '01 and passed. Two years later I took the Certification test and passed, and in '05, I took the dealer license test and passed. I had to study for each one and each time I walked out of there thinking that I failed (I thought they were all hard). I guess I didn't give myself enough credit because I passed each time.

I think your background will certainly help you but it is not a guarantee that you'll pass. The test itself is 125 multiple choice questions and I believe you have to get 89 of them correct to pass. Most people think that with a multiple choice test, they'll be able to pass no problem. The problem is that 3 out of the 4 questions COULD BE correct. Your job is to find the one that is MOST CORRECT. These days, I have a training class that I put on at my John Deere Landscapes location every February. I've done it for the past 4 years and I've helped 15 - 20 people get licensed.