Methods and Machinery for Leaf Pickup

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by azlelawncare, Jan 10, 2008.

1. azlelawncare

azlelawncare LawnSite Member

Leaf blowers, leaf vacs, leafloaders, tarps, bagging, dumping... Where to start? Where to go? I am just getting started and am looking for the right direction the first time. I'm not that big, but will be.

Where do you use a leaf blower and or leaf vac?

Are they no-brainers to purchase?

What is the time savings over tarps and raking?

Lot's of simple questions, any experienced help to reduce my learning curve would be appreciated!!!

2. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT

Welcome to LawnSite! - do you have a dump insert or truck? - if so.. IMO I would get a leaf vac.

we use a load-handler on a 2500hd. we can fit a lot of leaves in the back with the sides. we chop the leaves with the mower, then suck them up with the mower, then drive the mower to the truck and unload. very time consuming and to make it work well, you need to have someone in the truck unloading the bags. removing the leaves is a breeze with the load handler its just the getting them into the truck thats a pita. I was looking at getting a dump insert for my truck this year, maybe getting leaf vac if i can afford it. the leaf vac would make our lives a lot easier. blow all the leaves to the front of the yard and your done.

leaf blowers are a must for clean-ups. we have a br600, i love that thing! light weight and powerful. now if your just starting out, im going to assume money is a factor in what you purchase. so going out and spending 2000 $ on a leaf loader isnt feasible. what kind of equipment do you have now?

3. Raven386

from CT

[​IMG]

now that wasnt filled to the top, but the loadhandler took all of that out with no problem. only a small amount left behind.

4. KS_Grasscutter

KS_Grasscutter LawnSite Gold Member