metro hp vs. turf tracer hp

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ale, Oct 24, 2005.

1. ale

ale LawnSite Member

i just started an installation business in july 05 and was thinking of getting into mowing in spring 06. i was thinking of a metro hp 48" 15hp with a velke on it and someone told me that putting a velke would hurt the engine after awhile. he recommended getting a turftracer 19hp because the extra hp could handle the velke. it makes sense but is there any truth to that? i'm thinking of doing some larger lawns on a limited basis to start and see how it goes. i also heard that the metro was going to be discontinued anyway. i'm not experienced in lawn care at all, so any help is appreciated. thanks.

2. jim d.

jim d. LawnSite Member

I don't have a W/B but since no one else is answering I'll tell you what I've gleaned from this site. It seems that a 15 hp engine is about the minimum anyone recommends for a W/B, and I'm assuming that would be for a 32" or 36" mower. For what it's worth, I think the advice you got is probably right.

3. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

I have a metro 48/15 w/ velke x2 and it pulls me fine and has plenty of power for cutting and mowing in higher gears. It kind of depends on what you want/can spend, if i had the money there would have been no question of that i would have gotten the TTHP but i had a limited budget so i went with the metro, and am very happy with the puchase. Good Luck with your search!

4. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

My first mower was the Metro-48 and I have pulled the velke all over. I do a lot of hills and it does fine. The only thing I had to do was tighten the belts 2 times- About once a year. Well over 800 hours and fine.
    But we now use it for rough stuff and field work only because it is a belt drive.
    For wide open areas it is great but on small residential lots where you do a lot of backing up the hydro mower is the way to go.