mew mower question....help

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by djscott, Apr 19, 2005.

1. djscott

djscott LawnSite Member

I have to admit right off the bat that I'm not in business, least not cutting grass. so I'm what you would call residential, I live in a rural area and used to mow about 4 acres with LOTS of trees, I bought a used dixie chopper 60".
    That was 10 years ago, I just sold the dixie and I'm looking to buy a new mower. I now only mow 1.7 acres still with lots of trees and trimming.
    Call me anally retentive but I still want a "tough" mower, I'm a welder by trade and like having to ability to repair or fab somthing if needed.
    With all that said, I'm leaning tword a Dixie Chopper in the silver eagle seris probley a 50" or should I go with a husqvarna the husky a little bit more money, I even looked at a walker, but the second the guy told me the price I quickly changed my mind, I dont need a big unit but I want it to last and be able to take what ever I throw at it ( which is just mowing but I still want it tough.
    Which one do you guys recomend, you are the pros and deal with this stuff everyday thats why your opinions are the ones I'll listen to.

2. djscott

djscott LawnSite Member

please move to the top

3. djscott

djscott LawnSite Member

please move to the top

4. dwost

dwost LawnSite Bronze Member