Mid-life job switch to irrigator?

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by danax, Jan 18, 2004.

1. danax

danax LawnSite Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm 45 and currently work in a bank that is in the process on liquidating itself and I am exploring other ways of making a living. I am sick of being an employee. I'm a musician and trying to get that going but I have this idea and would appreciate the opportunity to run it by you all. Here's my plan;

1) I want to install 2-3 systems per month average year-round netting $2500-$3500 mo(making around $1000 net per residential avg?).
    2) I would like to work alone, maybe with a helper, and spend maybe 3 days on each job.
    3)I would like to install premium systems with attention to detail that would be noticed and appreciated by homeowners resulting eventually in pure word-of-mouth business.

Methods
    1) Obtain license (easy in Texas).
    2) Purchase truck with pipe rack.
    3) Leave flyers to get rolling.

A few concerns.
    1) Trenching-is poly pipe with pipe puller considered mickey-mouse or should I rent a trencher and use PVC, or? how about sub contracting a trenching company? (I'm in good shape, can handle Houston heat well but my back is delicate at times).

2) I want to work alone because I want as simple a business as possible, no employees. Is this a ridiculous idea?

3) I'm not a particulary good salesperson but I am honest and people pick up on that. Can this approach work?

I want to approach each install as almost art, spending extra time to get everything just right. I'm hoping that enough clients will notice and appreciate this to allow me to meet my modest goals. Am I way off base here in my ideas? Thanks in advance for any repies.

2. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation LawnSite Silver Member

A few concerns.