Mid mounts or Front mowers??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WeedWhacker69, May 19, 2001.

1. WeedWhacker69

WeedWhacker69 LawnSite Member

This is my first year in the lawn care and mowing bussines and so far everything is going great. I currently have a mid mount ZTR and are planning on buying a second mower either later on in the summer or next season. I was wondering what is the best for mostly residental and some commercial mowing, mid mounts or front deck mowers? And which brands are the best and whic to stay away from? I currently have a Snapper Yard Cruiser ZTR mid mount and its a very nice mower but with the ever growing client list I'm looking to upgrade and was wanting some suggestions. Thanks for the information and best of luck to everyone this season.
  2. boozoo

boozoo LawnSite Member

What dealers do you have in your area? I prefer the comfort and "edging" ability of a front mount, but wide open flat ground is prime turf for a mid-mount. I'm not particularly impressed with Snapper, but most of what I know ofthem is talk, not experience. What is the size, slope, and dominant grass in the yards you cut? Do you need to bag? What dealers are around? don't they make dixie's in your area?
  3. turfguy33

turfguy33 LawnSite Member

I looked at both the mid-mounts and the front mounts last year when I started looking for a new mower. I decided on a Great Dane,, and so far the choice is a good one. The only things I didn't like about front mounts is they do take up too much room on the trailer, and I feel like there just too bulky on some of my jobs. I'm sure that there great mowers, and considering buying a Kubota front mount 4 wd for my large corporate jobs, but only because of the very very good possibility of getting my ztr's hung up and sand. I should know, earlier this year, before the drought, I got my dane hung up twice, considering putting a warn winch on it.......might be a good investment