1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

mid season aches and pains

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by Organic a go go, Jul 11, 2008.

1. Organic a go go

Organic a go go LawnSite Member

Not being as young as I used to be certainly amplifies all the dings and bumps in being a solo operator. Bursitis in the elbows? Check. Tight and sore hamstrings? Got em. Mystery pain in my ribs? Comin' on strong. Lower back pain? Do you even have to ask.

"I gotta get outta this truck" I say every year. Maybe next year.

On the plus side Im more buffed up at 40-something than I was at 19.

Anybody else more broken down than me?
  2. Daner

Daner LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been working for myself since I was 22 yrs old...and have always been a working man...on my knees...In the rain ,Mud freezing cold temps...the heat...Its been a wild pile of years behind me...and now past the 50 mark I do feel It In my knees......Ican't bounce back up like I use to...some arthritis In my hip too...but I'm taking glucosamine for that It helps alot. I Think as I got older I became smarter on how to take care of the ole body:)
  3. Elden

Elden LawnSite Member

I don't know what caused it but I have a protruding disk in my lower back. It's been 6 weeks now. Going to see the neurosurgeon Wed. so we shall see how bad I really am.
  4. treegal1

treegal1 LawnSite Gold Member

I hope i make it to 50 ........... oh ow that hurts.........some one get me a.......... still look like i am 21.......... it just hurts some times......... wish i had not wrecked that bike at 65 mph.........ow...pop.... crunch....
  5. razor1

razor1 LawnSite Bronze Member

I feel your pain (literally) but there is some truth in the old saying "what does'nt kill you makes you stronger". Although I hope to never find out the breaking point.