Mid-Season Price HIKE! (Advice please?)

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Tyler7692, Sep 3, 2007.

1. Tyler7692

Tyler7692 LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey guys. This is my first year (Not really, next year will be the first year with advertisement, ect... I just picked up 15 residentials by word of mouth this year.)

Anyway, I majorly underbid this small business that I mow (Its a bar). I told the guy I'd do it for $25. (This was before I knew a damn thing about pricing). Its all open mowing probably about 3/4 of an acre altogether maybe a little less. I run a 52 Bobcat ztr on it.

Anyway, I was going to send a professional letter to the business owner (I also used to mow his house before he moved to condo) saying that we now have a $40 minimum on commercial accounts ( I can service this property in 30 minutes) I will also say the we now include pick up and removal of trash and debris from turf areas and landscape beds (There aren't any beds). The owner doesn't give a **** what the place looks like. It has two foot tall weeds growing everywhere out of the cracks in the parking lot and the building could use some fixer-upper work and paint. Anyhow, this is in no contract or service agreement or anything. Just verbal.. Also, I found out after I got the job that the last guy charged $35.

What can I do? If I lose the account, screw it. Its only 25 bucks.

I was possibly going to try to upsell this guy and see if he wants us to round-up the parking lot and get rid of the weeds. (I will sub it out to a friend of mine on the chemical side).

2. Tyler7692

Nobody has ever done this?

3. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

You answered your own question - "What can I do? If I lose the account, screw it. Its only 25 bucks." Might as well send out the letter.

4. J Hisch

J Hisch LawnSite Senior Member

when you rasie prices you have to be ready to do it for no less. If you are willing to do it for less then why raise the price.

5. All_Toro_4ME