Milky spore grub control

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Capemay Eagle, Oct 19, 2007.

1. Capemay Eagle

Capemay Eagle LawnSite Bronze Member

2. Landude

Landude LawnSite Member

I have been using it for a few years. While it does work it's no match for
    the grub problem this year. If you're goal is to knock them out now it won't do it..

3. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member

Landude is right. Milky spore's goal is to 'spread plaugue' throughout the white grub population to wipe it out. Unfortunately, because, as you probably know, grubs change into beetles and back a couple times a year, it's just plain LUCK if any beetles come back and happen to drop any eggs in the area of turf where you spread your 'plaugue' of milky spore! And you're damned if you kill them all, too! Because that lessens the chance that the plaugue will be spread! But I DO KNOW some people who have bluegrass turf and use it and SWEAR by it. They just have to re-apply it occasionally.

4. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

Milky spore is only for organic type tree huggers who are purests. Milky spore is KILLED the second you apply a herbicide or insecticide so if you do use weed control most likely your spores are dead and not protecting your lawn

5. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member

Oh, you're just feeling like a toot in the elevator today, aren't you eshskis?

6. Stillwater

ya, I don't know why I go off like that.... someone asked me yesterday if I was ok I just looked at them and said hu? what?

7. Stillwater

If you see small grubs close to the surface that means they are hatching and on their way down to grow to adult size this is called pre-pupation so irregardless of the time of the season if you discover small grubs within 1.5 inches of the thatch layer apply a strong dose of fast acting grub control like Bayer Dylox and then water in with at least 1/2 to 1 inch of water if you have a thick thatch layer water a little more.