Mini Z - 19hp/52" opinions

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by FIRESCOOBY, Mar 26, 2006.

1. FIRESCOOBY

FIRESCOOBY LawnSite Senior Member

I can get a smoking deal on a new Hustler Mini Z 19hp Kawasaki/52". I have some concerns and would like some feedback please.

1) Is the 19hp adequate for commercial (mainly residential) mowing?

2) The unit has smaller hydraulic pumps, etc. This concerns me...should it? Is it gonna last as long getting used commercially compared to a Super Mini Z or Super Z?

3) Should I move up a level to a Super Mini Z or Super Z? I'm just getting into the business, don't wanna make a mistake right off the bat.

4) Some say the 19/52 would make a good "starter" mower. I just don't want to buy a mower that it's gonna be "harder" on it because of smaller motor, smaller hydraulics, etc.

Appreciate the info.

2. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Syracuse, NY

1) Yes, the Mini Z is a full blown commercial rider and will tackle any job with ease.
    2) The unit comes with the industry standard 10cc Hydro-Gear pumps, these have been in use in commercial mowers for over 12 years, no problems.
    Now the Super Mini Z comes with 16cc pumps, this is to flow more fluid and increase drive speed, if your looking for speed then look at the Super Mini Z.
    3) see #2
    4) You are making a excellent choice in a mower, if you think you need the extra hp, then go to the 23hp or step up to the Super Mini Z, but for the hp on the model your looking at you should be fine, you may have to slow down a little in super thick stuff, but likely you will be fine in 99% of the conditions you will be in.
    Say Hi to James for me, and Keep those lawns in Cleveland looking good, my boss lives there.... lol...lol...
    Hope this helps.

Pj

3. FIRESCOOBY

Thanks for the help.

I'm not looking solely at speed, MAIN concern is longevity, reliability, and quality of cut. As you may know, our area can be quite hilly.