minnesota DOT sucks

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by casey humphrey, Mar 22, 2008.

1. casey humphrey

casey humphrey LawnSite Member

what is up with the dot these days ??? i recenly bought a 5*10 trailer with a gate and its brand spankn new from the dealer and i heard through the grape vine that the trailer needs brakes and a dot sticker and a break away box and all this stuff otherwise you get a fined and pulled over and embarrassed by the guy in the maroon blazer (commercial vehicle trooper) i am the small guy trying to get mainstream in the biz!! is it do to the hoopty trailers i have seen in my day ??? and the crap they pull with like a 76 chevy truck with the fenders falln off :laugh:and the fenders on the trailer bungy corded up to hold them in place? :laugh: i was a truck driver for 6 years so i had to deal with these people all the time. what are peoples thoughts on this subject ?? what is DOT like in other states ????:usflag:
  2. greenbaylawns

greenbaylawns LawnSite Senior Member

Nebraska has to be over 10,000 lbs Truck and trailer. We have a 98 f 150, 5x10 trailer with a 36 and a lazer ct 48, a push mower in the truck, weedeater, blower, and 2 - 2.5 gas cans. Just under the weight limit.
  3. casey humphrey

i use 05 ford ranger as pulling rig the whole trailer load is just under 700 pulls really good i have the big six and its a 5 speed
  4. Daily Lawn/Landscape

Daily Lawn/Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

If your gvw of the truck and trailer are over 10,100 you have to get DOT. But with your setup you should be under that. That 10,100 is just what is on the stickers not the total weight of what you will be hauling.

5. casey humphrey

just another way for the state to take your money :laugh:
    dam politicians :laugh:
  6. dougaustreim

dougaustreim LawnSite Senior Member