Minor Setback

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Lawns by Steve, Mar 14, 2007.

1. Lawns by Steve

Lawns by Steve LawnSite Member

Well, I finally saved enough money for my trailer. I bought a 5 x 10 with fold down ramp from an individual and on the way home from picking the trailer up, I was broad sided from some low life #*&! who ran a red light.:hammerhead: The ass ripped the trailer off my truck, twisted my hitch all up. The real neat thing about it is the dumba$$ does't have insurance and I had not covered the trailer yet. So I am going to have to start the season working out of the back of my truck:cry: I'm just worried I will look like the kid from down the street wanting to cut grass. Just wanted to vent a little since the wife thinks it's no big deal. I have a huge pride issue I like to look as professional as I can, since I am new to this industry I need all the help I can get.:dizzy:

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

erm, you did call the police at the time of the collision, right?

Because it's up to them to determine fault and to file a report, which determines liability... If per chance you live in a state where insurance is required (such as va), then the uninsured motorist may be breaking the law, and if at fault is still liable, too. And, if the police were not called, there's no telling whose fault it is.

Either way, if damages are in excess of $500, the police need to be called, it's the law. I would do it just to make sure I got paid, even if they have insurance, because unfortunately it's never anybody's fault, if you get my drift, the police can usually clear up these misunderstandings.

I ain't with that plan of 'oh well he didnt have insurance that just sux so now I gotta do whatever,' even if you never get paid, I'd still hold the guilty party liable.