Mitsubishi FG 4x4

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by dbear, Dec 29, 2000.

1. dbear

dbear LawnSite Senior Member

Yea, okay so I'm a newbie... Here's my question: My step-son and I are thinking of getting into the lawn care/snowplowing business (both tired of working like a dog to make somebody else rich) and I was wondering if anyone was running a Mitsubishi FG 4x4 with a landscapers body to plow with, and if so, how's it work compared to other rigs you've run? Any feedback is welcome. Thanks...

2. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

I have yet to use any cab over type truck. So here is the way I see, maybe it will help maybe it won't.

Pros:

Easy to turn, and see the front of the truck.
    Easy service: when you can tilt the cab. However electrical service is much more difficult.
    Short cab lenght

Cons:
    Higher than convensional trucks.
    Not as stable during offroad opperation.
    Cab is smaller than a pick up. Not sure if this is true or not, it is only what I have heard.
    The rear body of the truck is higher than some convential trucks.
    They may no opperate on ice and snow as well as a typical truck. This is due to the different weight deplacement and truck design.

Geoff

3. CCLC

CCLC LawnSite Senior Member

Some guys here in the Detroit area have them and they say that they are great. I've looked at them but I'm not ready to make that big of a step up yet.

4. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

That is another thing to think about. Where will you be opperating this truck?

If your in a hilly area with lots of curvey roads, than maybe a convential truck is the right choice.

However if your in a flat area like the mid west, maybe the cab over is the way to go.

Geoff

5. Alan

Alan Member