Modified Gator Blades

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cybervision, Oct 4, 2007.

1. cybervision

cybervision LawnSite Senior Member

This is how to grind your Gator blades to get great performance. I have been using them like this for 4 years. Grass clippings come out in smaller pieces then stock Gators plus it pulverizes the leaves. I have never had a problem with the discharge clumping or grass building up on the deck. I bought this set to be my swapping set but I think I am going to try them as doubles this fall.

I know Gators web site said they don't need to be sharp but it does make a difference. Not only are the teeth moving the clipping back into the blade I think they now cut also. Plus the air flow is smoother with the sharpened edge.

These pictures were taken before I extended and sharpened the cutting edge. They came with only 6" of bevel and not all that sharp.

The last photo is of stock Gators.

2. LawnBoy89

LawnBoy89 LawnSite Senior Member

how do you sharpen them/what do you use and how long does it take? doesnt look like a bad idea i thought of it myself but i never really knew how to do it and if it would make a difference
  3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

What kid of tool are you using on them?
  4. G.M.Landscaping

G.M.Landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

Nice pics. I was thinking of running some gators on my W/B's this fall since I've never tried them. Now I might have to modify them also.

Do you ever bag using these?
  5. Ramairfreak98ss

Ramairfreak98ss LawnSite Silver Member

neat idea, i always wondered if it would help if they were "sharp"

so you run 6 blades on your setup with these sharp like this?
  6. cybervision

I have a 2" X 60" 2 Horse Power Belt Sander and I ran a 36 grit Belt. It does not take that long on that sander. You can use a smaller sander if you have one. That machine is almost as good as a grinder and I actually use it to sharpen the cutting edges as well.

As far as the double blades go.