Moon Lighting landscaper

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by MarcSmith, Jan 7, 2007.

1. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

Ok first off. I dislike people who moonlight in their same professions. Ie if you work for a landscape company and do side work as a landscaper, there can be a huge conflict of interest.

My wife and I went to her companies annual holiday party on Friday. Most of the people know what I do for a living and my wife is the "ask the expert about plants" at her job.

While at the party the president of my wife's company, my wife's managers boss, starts asking me some questions, and explains that they had a company come out and take a look around. Mind you this is Georgetown and its a town house with access through the house only. She goes on to tell me that they want $1700 to do XYZ, basically cleaning up the beds, doing some corrective pruning, and some dead shrub removal. In all about 20 hours of work. She asked me to come by and take a look at it and see if what they recommended makes sense.

So I bite and swing by on Saturday. ends up being something I could easily do, either on weekends, or put in an hour here and there after work. I would not need any tools or equipment I don't' already own, ladder, pruners, ect.

I told her that I could not in good conscience do the work for 1700. She said, "I don't care. if I was going to pay Them 1700 to do the job, why is your time worth any less ( I mentioned i have no overhead, ect), and this way rather than giving to some other company, I'd rather give money to people I know. Besides, Id like to spend some of the time working with you to learn how and why you do things such that I can do it on my own in the future."