more weed than actual lawn......??

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by rickman, Jul 6, 2005.

1. rickman

rickman LawnSite Member
    from Maine

I got a call from a new customer,she says her yard is like 80% weed 20% lawn (grass)..I have yet to see it,but my question is this,Im new to the whole weed/fertlization world :dizzy: .I have only been a mower guy. So whats the best way to get rid of this "pretend" wannabee grass(weeds)??
    she wants nice green grass,not weedy grass,
    any help much apriciated!

2. A.T.A.K

A.T.A.K LawnSite Senior Member

Not to sound rude but resod or reseed depends on what she wants.

3. rickman

rickman LawnSite Member
    from Maine

thats why Im asking,I dont know what to do and neither does she...
    she wants me to do what ever might work to get rid of the weeds within the lawn

4. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Rickman

I am in Florida and you are in Maine, so My advise might not be the best. But it sounds like a case for a Re seed job.

But I do have to ask the age old question that is the # 1 most ask Question here in the pesticide forum. ""Are you Licensed to apply Pesticides, as in Certified Pesticide Operator???"

5. GREENITUP

GREENITUP LawnSite Member

rickman, can your customer wait a while for results or does she need grass asap? that should determine which to do - consider the much higher cost of the sod as well. you can seed and aerate 2-3 times for the cost of the sodding. if you take this road - you probably want to spray and make sure everything you don't want in the new lawn is dead a couple of weeks before starting..... and set up everything in the time of year best suited for seed germination in your area..... and (as you are no doubt about to read ) make sure you have the license to use and apply the herbicide you will use.... good luck.

6. rickman

rickman LawnSite Member
    from Maine

thanks guys! yes I know about the license,