Most decorative block for structual retaining wall.

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by mrusk, Mar 28, 2007.

1. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

I am bidding a job right now for a structual retaining wall. Most likely around 1500 face feet. Most of the time we would just use a regular allen block or something like that for a wall this size. However this wall is on a 10 million dollar house and highly visable.

I love techo products, but there wall units are just physicall not big enough. What are the 9inch deep?

I am thinking of using ep henry Coventry block. I have never worked with this block before. What do you guys think of it?

Matt

2. D Felix

D Felix LawnSite Bronze Member

EP is not available here, so I haven't ever seen/used it.

Around here, if we were looking at a wall like that on a property like you describe (which, BTW, is pretty much non-existant!!), we'd probably be looking at a Versa-loc Mosaic wall. Either tumbled or straight face, depending on what the client wants or is willing to pay for and what kind of feel the house will have.

Versa-lok is hands down the best option we have for a true retaining wall block. You can do everything with the 'standard' size of block; since it's a solid block you can make corners, steps, columns, etc with it rather than having to order special blocks like with other manufacturers. Go with a blended color if possible so that color differences between runs won't show (but that's the case with just about any manufacturer).

Keystone Century wall has a similiar feel, but IMHO has some design flaws, not to mention the fact that it's a core'd block which is an added PITA.

3. mrusk

We have very little keystone presence in the area. And i have no idea about how good the local manufacture is for keystone.

I could do a mosic versa lok, but i know they really rape you on the cost for the small block. But its a easy block to work with.

4. D Felix

D Felix LawnSite Bronze Member