1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Mother nature taking its toll on my business again.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WHIPPLE5.7, Mar 19, 2008.

1. WHIPPLE5.7

WHIPPLE5.7 LawnSite Senior Member

I've been doing great with garden bed cleanups, power raking, and aerating this week. Last night as I was going to bed it started getting really windy(50 mph)and it hailed and snowing a couple of inches. I knew this wiped out todays work load and just to reassure me of that my customers called me at7:00 to tell not to bother. I could be out of work for as much as another 2 or 3 days:cry:. I'm new at doing this full time so I just get worried when I can't work because I've spent a bunch of money on new equipment and need it to be making me money. I am thankful that the newspaper services ad I placed has been getting me so much business. I just get shortfused with these bargain shoppers that say "let me call out a few more guys and if your the cheapest I might call you back". By that point I just want to say don't bother.
    They have a $400K home, $200K RV in the driveway, $50K boat in the driveway, and when I give them an estimate of $250 for both power raking and aerating they say "that sure is a lot of money I'm going to have to think about that for awhile".
  2. heather lawn sp

heather lawn sp LawnSite Senior Member

Why do you think they have a $400K home, $200K RV in the driveway, $50K boat in the driveway? 'Cause they don't stand around on street corners giving away their money. YOU got to make them think they are getting the BEST value for their dollar. The same way the real estate salesman did, the same way the RV salesman did, the same way the boat dealer did. If you can find that magic touch, you've got it made.:weightlifter: